Skilled Independent Visa (Points-tested) Stream, Subclass 189


Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) (New Zealand) stream is for New Zealand Special Category (subclass 444) visa holders who have shown a commitment and contribution to Australia to apply for permanent residence.

New Zealand citizens who are granted this permanent visa will be eligible to apply for Australian citizenship after 12 months (in addition to holding a Special Category visa for a period of five consecutive years).

If you are not a New Zealand citizen you may be eligible to apply for the Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) (Points-tested) stream.


You must:

  • hold a Special Category (subclass 444) visa.
  • have been usually resident in Australia continuously for five years
  • have started residency in Australia on or before 19 February 2016
  • meet an income threshold or income exemption for each of the five years.

Length of stay


What you can do

Global processing times

Point Score